I Have Less Than 10% Storage Left in My Brain

Oh wait. I meant my iCloud account.

Beth Bruno
5 min readApr 26, 2024
Photo by That's Her Business on Unsplash

I have been receiving urgent messages from my iCloud account that my storage is soon to be full. I am paying $2.99 a month for extra storage. Now I have filled all that up and they want $9.99 a month to give me more. Or I can delete a bunch of stuff out of my phone and make more room.

The question I have to ask myself is this: Do I have enough storage left in my brain to even use all the information I’ve stored in the cloud? What if I only have 10% more room in my brain to put new stuff? Can I opt to delete a bunch of stuff from my brain to make room for new stuff? Or am I stuck with what I have? I haven’t seen any offers of $9.99 a month to get more storage in my gray matter.

I seem to be on the horns of a dilemma. If I can’t expand my brain storage, should I keep putting all kinds of stuff in there that doesn’t matter?

Every day, I scroll through and read dozens of articles that I cannot remember 20 minutes after I read them. I look at pictures on Pinterest and save them to my boards, but I never go back and look at those boards. I save YouTube videos to “watch later” but rarely do. There is always a fresh supply each morning. There’s only so much time and so much room in my brain.

--

--

Beth Bruno

Human learning to be human. Writing in hopes of getting there.