I Will Never Ask You to Contact Me Through What’s App

Beth Bruno
1 min readMar 21, 2024
Photo by Onur Binay on Unsplash

If you get a response that looks like it’s from me and it asks you to contact me on What’s App or Chat GPT or any other way, it’s not me. I have been getting these requests from other Medium writers, and I always ignore them. It’s obvious someone is pirating accounts.

Most of the time I report them, and Medium deletes those accounts. It hasn’t seemed to delete the real author’s accounts, because I have then read posts by the authors soon after. But maybe that’s not the right thing to do?

If anyone has any insight on this, please enlighten me. I haven’t figured out how to contact Medium to report it, and to ask how to respond to these messages.

I had a couple of messages from friends on Medium this morning asking if I sent the request for them to call a phone number to connect. If you get this comment from me, I wanted to let you know it’s not me.

--

--

Beth Bruno

Human learning to be human. Writing in hopes of getting there.