If Women Are to be Free, They Have to be Free to Choose This

Not every woman wants a career

Beth Bruno
5 min readApr 14, 2024
Photo by Marten Bjork on Unsplash

I had a career for 10 years. I came to the party late, getting my degree when I was 49. I did it to prove to myself that I could. And to a great degree, I did it so I could answer the dreaded cocktail party question, “What do you do?”

Here’s the honest truth: If I could have gotten paid for it, I would have been a homemaker for a career. I know that sounds ridiculous in this enlightened age. No, I am not a conservative, and I am not religious. But I believe women should have the right to choose every damn thing about their lives. And I applaud women who have careers, who have made their own way, and who can take care of themselves financially without depending on a man (or anyone else.)

But the truth is, I have always been happiest at home. To me, creating a home that feels like a refuge and where others feel warm, comfortable, and safe is an endlessly fascinating and creative pursuit. Creating great meals, putting fresh flowers from my own garden on the table, making the house smell good, look cozy, and be a comfortable nest for my friends and family is the height of creativity for me. If this is what a woman wants, she should not be shamed for it. It’s honorable work.

--

--

Beth Bruno

Human learning to be human. Writing in hopes of getting there.